The Group Leader

Anthony J. Burke  is the group leader. He obtained a BSc (joint honours in Chemistry & Biology, 1988) from NUI-Maynooth and a PhD from University College Dublin, Ireland (1993, supervisor –W. Ivo. O’Sullivan). After post-doctoral studies with Steve Davies (Oxford, 1993-96) and Chris Maycock (ITQB –Portugal, 1996-1999) and working for a year as a lecturer in analytical chemistry at Instituto Piaget: Instituto Superior de Estudos Interculturais e Transdisciplinares, Almada, Portugal. He is currently an associate professor of chemistry at the University of Évora. He obtained the title of agregation (“habilitation”) in organic chemistry from the University of Évora in 2012. He has over 100 peer reviewed publications (including a book and book chapters), patents and talks given at conferences and other venues, was the vice-president of the organic chemistry division of SPQ between 2011-2013.  He has co-authored the books, Catalytic Arylation Methods – From the Academic Lab to Industrial Processes  and Active Pharmaceutical Ingredients in Synthesis, Catalytic Processes in Research and Development , both published by Wiley-VCH. He was chairman for the1st,  2nd and 3rd editions of the International Symposium on Synthesis and Catalysis (ISySyCat), and actively planning the 4th edition for 31 Aug to 3 Sept 2021. He was co-editor of some thematic issues in ChemCatChem and Molecules, and is currently the editor of a special edition of Molecules entitled “Transition Metal Catalyzed Cyclizations” and a special edition of Synlett dedicated to ISySyCat2019. He was appointed a Fellow of ChemPubSoc Europe in Feb 2020.

His contacts are: Tel. +351266745310, Fax. +351266745303, email.

ResearcherID F-4781-2013

Orcid Reference 0000-0001-8248-1116